The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,033 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What's everybody making this year? I have three gallons of grape and gallons of blackberry, peach, pear and pumpkin. This is my first attempt at pear and pumpkin. Already racked the blackberry and peach once and they others will probably be racked for the first time the end of this week.

·
Registered
12,369 Posts
5 gallons Black Raspberry/Wine Berry/ Black Berry Mix, 5 gallons peach and 1 gallon of Tomato for now...

If I can get back to the place I seen the 30 pounds of fox grapes last weekend and pick this coming Saturday it will be 3 gallons of Fox Grape and then 5 gallons of Hard Cider when I get 5 gallons of Cider from Strites Orchard!

I've made pumpkin before and if there would have been extra pumpkins this year, I would have made 2 gallons of it...did you add any Pumpkin Pie Spices to your pumpkin when you first started fermenting it?

·
Registered
12,369 Posts
pchunter1231 said:
I would like to make some grape wine this but i dont know how. Any advice would be appreciated.
pchunter, I take it from your 4B listing and your screen name, your in Perry County...

Take a trip down to Lemoyne to Scotzin Brothers http://www.scotzinbros.com/
They will help you get started, they have starter kits for the Beginners and their own Recipe Book (Their Recipe book is good but they use alot of water in their recipes, which can be deleted if you increase the amount of fruits) and also have days where they do work shops to show how to make wine and beer!

Take a trip down there, grab yourself a starter kit and question them, See the old guy Tom that works in there, he is the Wine Expert for the Store and will have your Head Spinning on all he has to offer to help you get started!

·
Registered
12,369 Posts