The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Banned
444 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just brought some honey comb home from one of my timber sales. I crushed up the cone, and let it run through a collander, The wife looked at it, and spotted a few pieces of dead bee mixed in with the crushed comb, and declared it unfit for consumption, as the possibility arose for salmonella poisening...since I've never done this before, I'd like some advice from you bee guys out there...Really hate to throw 2 cups of honey away....

·
Registered
21,381 Posts
Bring it to the Outdoor Show Scott. I'll eat it for you!

·
Registered
893 Posts
We buy home made honey from a fella in Cresson.
Now you got me thinking we are going to get salmonella poisening.
But it is better than the store stuff.

·
Registered
3,364 Posts
please send a jar. i'll gobble it up too. honey does not spoil and would effectively reduce to nil any chance of little bee parts becoming contaminated with salmonella. I read someplace that honey was used as preservative and embalming fluid or something like that. whatever the case...fresh wild honey is YUMMY.

·
Registered
21,381 Posts
Honey also reduces cancer risks, and IIRC, reduces the chance of bee allergies?

Of course, they also say bee stings reduce the risk of cancer.

·
Banned
26,979 Posts
Send it to me I will let you know if it is fit. Don't throw it away, just strain it through some cheese cloth. Tel your wife honey has antiseptic qualities so those bee parts wonnt hurt you. Un parturized honey, uumm.

·
Registered
748 Posts
TimberPro, Don't believe these people it must be checked before u eat it. Please PM me for the address to have it checked. Oh it takes 2 cups to be processed. Tom

·
Registered
12,166 Posts