The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to handguns but not to guns in general. I have been active in the outdoors for 30 years hunting and trapping . that said I have never owned a handgun and will be getting one soon.. My question is , What handgun would be good for my wife to carry, most likly in her purse mostly but also when she goes for a walk? Thanks

·
Registered
2,126 Posts
Pro and cons on semi. and revolvers. They make some real nice little carry guns these days. I would suggest maybe a S&W bodyguard in 380 or maybe a Taurus ultra light in a 38 spl
Take her to a shop and see what fit her hand best. Some revolvers tend to have larger grips and can be hard for a woman to wrap her hand around.
Many companies are making handguns specifically for women also, eg. The lady smiths.

·
Registered
3,395 Posts
Follow the advice of taking her to a reputable gun shop and let her see what fits her the best.

If she has never handled a firearm or has very little experience, a small revolver may be better for her due to an easier learning curve.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the advice I will do that..Are the semi that difficult to use? I like the higher cap. of rounds in them...

·
Registered
1,232 Posts
Don't get a semi-auto for her-why have to worry about a safety? Revolvers are the best for women and concealed carry in general.

·
Registered
4,869 Posts
There are to many things that could go wrong with a semi versus a revolver. The absolute best weapon for a beginner to carry is a hammerless revolver! Smith & Wesson IMO is the best!

·
Registered
117 Posts