The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am curious to see what everyones thoughts are on the debate between a whisker biscuit and the QAD Ultra Rest Pro Series HD Drop away rest. My birthday is coming up, and the wife is asking me what I want. I have been using a whisker biscuit for the last 3 years, and while I dont have any real complaints, I have had a lot of guys tell me that the QAD drop away rest is far and away the better rest, and can possibly lead to some tighter groups and more consistent arrow flight. If anyone has any thoughts or experience switching from a whisker biscuit to the QAD drop away rest, I would greatly appreciate it.

Happy New Year everyone!

·
Registered
3,684 Posts
Personally I do not like the looks of biscuits. I only know one guy personally that was brave enough to try one and he didnt seem to like it as it didnt last long on his bow. Personally I dont like the idea of having the vanes go through the biscuit. Drop aways are a more popular setup with most bows I see at the shops.

·
Registered
3,198 Posts
The best way to debate this is to use examples;
1.If I am bow hunting on the ground in difficult terrain and my arrow is going to flop all over the place then the whisker Bisket would be the ticket since it encapsulates the arrow shaft.

2. If I am hunting in a tree stand in somewhat of a contolled enviroment then I would go with a drop away as they have no contact on the arrow shaft once shot.

I personally use a Trophy Taker and love it but I hunt out of a tree stand 99.99% of the time.
I also know people who use the Whisker Bisket and they say for what they do it serves their interest.

PS: Stay away from the friction type drop aways

·
Registered
3,405 Posts
I like my Trophy Ridge drop zone. Used my friends Whisker biscuit and didn't care for it at all. But then again, it is the shooter's preference.

·
Registered
106 Posts