The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
186 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The landowner that lets me hunt on his property is letting me plant some foodplots this year. I bought some BioLogic Premium Perennial. The bag says that you can plant in spring or fall. This is my first time planting a foodplot in PA. What month is best to plant the foodplot? Can I plant it now or should I wait until late August?

·
Registered
11,357 Posts
depends, do you want to hunt OVER it or do you want to hunt deer that have benefited from it? Answer that question and you'll know which month

both always works too

·
Registered
27,829 Posts
Right now, at this point in the year, if your plot has not been prepared, I'd wait for a fall planting. Those seedlings would be coming up just about the onset of hot, dry weather. That is usually not good for clover.

·
Registered
186 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks for the tips I appreciate them. I plan on hunting over the food plot. We used a tiller and worked up the ground this morning. I think I will just continue to work it up several more times this summer and we can plant it in the early fall (late August).

·
Registered
27,829 Posts
That will really help you with weed control.

·
Registered
11,357 Posts
yep, that will help with the weeds alright, but i would suggest spraying a few days prior to planting, just to kill off anything that might "overpower" your biologic.

·
Registered
27,829 Posts
I think if he tilled it right at planting, he'd be fine. No need to spray as the tilling would kill anything growing?

That would also be the time to incorporate fertilizer into the plot. Lime could be done anytime this summer, the earlier, the better, if it needs lime.

·
Registered
3,684 Posts
Have you had a soil test?