The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
804 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just bought a used one and was wondering what sort of problems are they noted for?

I figure that there must be a reason that law enforcement and the military stayed away from them?

·
Registered
6,415 Posts
Only problems I know of them having (I own 2 of them) is that they are light, reliable, and generally pattern very well with a good turkey choke.

·
Registered
3,770 Posts
You can short-shuck them and jamb them up, but you can do that with almost any pump. I've been using my 1300 turkey for at least 15 years without a hitch. I often think about buying one of the newer Turkey shotguns, but my 1300 has killed every one it shot at !

·
Registered
12,676 Posts
That short shucking stuck shell thing happened to my buddy last weekend. He has a late 80`s Winchester Ranger which I think may be similar to the 1300?

·
Registered
4,190 Posts
mines a late 80's ranger 1300. never had anything wrong with it. till this year. its lonley cuz i'm working saturdays now. its been crying to go for a walk

·
Registered
3,391 Posts
Strut10 said:
Only problems I know of them having (I own 2 of them) is that they are light, reliable, and generally pattern very well with a good turkey choke.
This. I only own one now. A 26" bbl's full camo, Universal Hunter series. I have owned 5 of them and honestly regret selling every single one of them. Great guns.

·
Registered
3,745 Posts
none. Awesome shotguns. I had a few in the past and now they currently reside with various friends and family...

"Oh Ken you can find more give me this one"...

·
Registered
1,054 Posts
243kid said:
Just bought a used one and was wondering what sort of problems are they noted for?

I figure that there must be a reason that law enforcement and the military stayed away from them?
Remington and Mossberg offered a better price than Winchester.

·
Registered
1,997 Posts