The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
722 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am a beginner targeting specifically coyotes. Last year was my first year trapping, and i started durinig the last 2 weeks of the season. I made a dirthole set and a flat set and within 5 days i picked up a 40lb female on the flat set. This year, i started getting traps in the ground right after regular firearms season for deer. From then til now, i have hooked up, and lost 4 coyotes. I have been bedding my bridger #3 4x4's rock solid, and then roughly 1/2" of cover in peat moss, then blending in with surrounding area as i am using mainly flat and scent post sets. Is the peat moss on top too loamy causing a pull back reaction? Is my pan tension too light? I want to say roughly 2 lbs of pressure.. any help is appreciated.

·
Registered
722 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
yes 100% sure. full catch circles full of coyote tracks on three of them , and the other one had coyote tracks circling the set then went in and sprung the trap, and only short coyote leg hair was left on the jaws. I think he pulled his leg back quickly and i just pinched his leg. Trap was not moved.

·
Registered
749 Posts
is it possible you have weak springs on those traps? 2 lbs tension should be plenty for a good pad catch..when i set i actually bare my pan from the peat moss and do a very light native soil top dress to cover the pan up...im thinking that if a coyote steps on the pan then he should be there waiting for you in those traps...

if it was me i would look at the springs of the traps that you had catch circles at with a escapee....much blood on the trap when you showed up????????

is it possible you caught a coon and it got out and the coyotes spent time there after the coon got out which is why your seeing all the tracks around????????

·
Registered
722 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·