The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Super Moderator
12,802 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I work 10 day stretches...4 days off is nice...but after 10 normal days im beat...after this stretch I'm plain out fried...

My buddies families camp is 30 miles closer than home..i have to be back in early...so figured I'd check on the camp and do a little fishing before dark..

There are 2 creeks behind the camp..ive been coming here for almost 15 years and never fished them..

The one I spotted a few browns in a few rifle seasons back...the other is small but it looked like brookie water...

I started in the bigger Creek...figured id fish the short distance till the small creek fed in and fish the small creek up behind camp a ways..

I was very disappointed in the extremely low water...the storms last night must have missed this area...

I was walking down stream with the big creek but stayed out of the water sneaking up on the bank and spotted a spot screaming trout....

I tossed my spinner in and it was immediately crushed...the "dreaded" first cast trout...(I say that jokingly to a certain extent...it used to be a bad omen for me...but my last outing produced a first set trout...my biggest wild brown..and my first wild tiger trout..so now I welcome first cast trout..lol)

Turned out to be the biggest of the day...

The fishing was surprisingly good..the creek is a trickle but every pool produced fish...

A bit passed camp I spotted this bear track....for whatever reason they are around in the summer but we've never seen one in the fall..

I ended the day on this fish...

In all ended with 15 pretty little brookies. I lost more than usual...i blame the skinny water..it was tough fishing..tough angles for hooksets...but it was a great quick trip..maybe an hour of so of fishing and maybe a half mile of water covered ...I'm gunna have to give em heck under better conditions sometime! I never expected the fishing to be that good..