The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
12,798 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking into buying an auto darkener. Right now, I have a Jackson hood with the large lens, and I love it deeply. I don't want a small lens. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
19,941 Posts
Harbor Freight Tools carries them. BUY ONE!

·
Registered
12,798 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've had quality issues with Harbor Freight before. Remember, this is what I do for a living, so I don't mind spending a few bucks on this. I may even go whole hog, and send it to be painted like Fleury's mask. But with 6 Lombardi's, of course.

·
Registered
12,798 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
They work. Even if something happens, they are somewhat dark to begin with, similar to burning glasses. Honestly, being a welder, you get flashed a lot anyway, so I'm not sure it would make a big difference anyway in the grand scheme of things.

Now welcoming "getting flashed" jokes.

·
Banned
3,632 Posts
I believe this Jackson is from the hood...

·
Banned
3,632 Posts
steelerfan58 said:
I've had quality issues with Harbor Freight before. Remember, this is what I do for a living, so I don't mind spending a few bucks on this. I may even go whole hog, and send it to be painted like Fleury's mask. But with 6 Lombardi's, of course.
Is getting it "dipped" like they do with rifle stocks, skulls, etc. an option?

·
Registered
12,798 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
I don't know. It would have to be a very tough paint.

·
Registered
183 Posts
stay away from the harbor freight auto darkeners.. if you are going to buy one. do it right and get a miller, lincoln or hobart hood. i am a professional welder/ fabricator and i use a hobart hood for 8 hours a day. no issues at all.

·
Registered
24,796 Posts
The auto's come in several lens configurations.

Try to try several on. Your going to be wearing it a lot. How it feels and wears is as important as the lens in it.