The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9,145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using peat moss and buckwheat hulls to bed in and with the ground being so wet my sets are a mess and I'm not even catching anything in them. I'm wondering if part of the reason is because I end up with peat moss and buckwheat hulls exposed or floating around in the beds in any form of a stepdown set.

I'm wondering if waxed dirt wouldn't be a better solution. Peat and buckwheat also don't lend themselves to solid bedding material.

Just wondering about the pros / cons of waxed dirt besides the expense. I don't run a huge line, less than 20 sets, so I'm not going to spend a fortune on it.

·
Premium Member
24,169 Posts
I'm no expert but wouldn't you rather use hay sets instead of dirthole sets? Don't need dirt for them.

·
Registered
625 Posts
As far as I've experienced, nothing beats it's effectiveness for winter trapping. That being said, it takes time and money to make, and heavy to carry. The only time I have seen it not work: not enough wax mixed well enough with the dirt, and crusted over snow that would support the weight of a coyote. I had a trap in the ground from nov. 1st left the bedding untouched and caught a coyote in that set approx. Jan. 15th during single digit temperatures (I did relure it every couple weeks). I also had a trap bedded for a few weeks last year, untouched until the 2nd day of deer season last year (caught a coyote). In our area, we got a least an inch of rain that monday, day before I connected.
Personally, I'd like to get better bedding with buck wheat hulls due to the fact that its: faster, cheaper and lighter. I had issues with peat moss absorbing water and freezing. I know some people just say, flip the top frozen layer off but once I put a set in, I like to leave it alone.

·
Registered
9,145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·