The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
2,858 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Really want to get a small waterproof digital for in the field and day to day use. I have a digital camera but it's too big to slip in my pocket and take on stand.

Any recommendations?? I'm eyeballing the Olympus Tough 8000. Waterproof, shockproof, freeze proof (whatever that means)and would fit in my pocket.

I see canon, sony, and some others are out there too. anyone have experience with any of them good or bad??
Thx!

·
Registered
4,084 Posts
I have a Pentax Optio W20 that takes awesome pictures, both underwater and above water. Very small, compact, and a reasonable price. I would recommend it to anyone.

·
Registered
5,787 Posts
not too many small digital cameras that are waterproof, I know as you stated olympus makes them, but I have no experience with them..good luck!

·
Registered
216 Posts
I'll second the Pentax W20. Use mine to take pictures of fish and stream side insects. I've got pictures of fish under water as I bring them in. The macro mode works great. Even use it for pictures of flies I tie.

·
Registered
2,436 Posts
I have a Fuji WP - not sure of the model number - but is it small enough for a shirt pocket and takes pretty good pictures. I bought mine at BJ's Warehouse this spring for about $170 - also claimed to somewhat shock proof and dirt proof.

Look them up on Ebay or Google, you should be able to find them. Overall, I like mine.

·
Registered
2,858 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Gonna look into the Pentax and Fuji too being the Olympus is the highest price. Thx All
The macro option would be nice for tiny close ups of aquatic bugs.

·
Registered
1,822 Posts