The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been using 4" vanes for the past 30 years and lately it seems I have been seeing more and more people using blazer vanes. I am getting ready to buy a new dozen arrows and I am wondering if I should switch vanes. Can I get some pro's and con's on the blazer vanes? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
351 Posts
i switched 2 seasons ago and i now shoot tighter groups and i find that the 2 inch vanes will hold up much better then the 4 inch vanes. i would recommend them to anyone shooting carbon arrows.

·
Registered
5,061 Posts
Blazers vanes were designed to steer fix bladed broad heads. Having a higher profile in the back with less weight meant better weight forward tendencies. Personally, I would get a few arrows with Blazers on and compare them with what your shooting now. You may not like them. But if you do, then set the rest of then up!

I use them for everything, field tips and broad heads. Ill never go back to regular vanes again. Yes I do use them in right helical as well. Being so short, in a helical clamp, you can hardly tell there's a helical on it. The back of the vane has a slight keel on it. This gives me a bit more spin to stabilize that arrow a little bit faster. My vanes been on since 2008, and through a WB rest. No problems yet!

·
Registered
2,266 Posts
Blazers are the only thing ill shoot from now on. They seem to correct the arrow much faster and they fly faster. They are definately more durable to ive noticed.

·
Registered
3,715 Posts
Shot Blazers for awhile,now i'm shooting Fusions. They work good, but in my opinion the Blazers are alot more durable than the Fusions. Ive already replaced quited a few Fusions this year as compared to only a few Blazers.

·
Registered
582 Posts