The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3,581 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok...I'm new to the in-line's so I do a lot of internet reading. And at times that's good....and at times....not so much.

But I've come across a few post on some forum's that have babbled about using a cut down 22 hornet brass, along with (and I assume the Hornet uses SR primers) in place of the shotgun 209 primers.

In fact, this Web Site babbles about using a modified 22 hornet case, but then goes on to tell you how much they will charge you to modify your breach plug to accept 25acp cases.

I don't know why you would want to do that.....if the 22 Hornet is free?? Or since the 209's are even "more free".

Anyone hear about this....or have any experience....or is this a diaper full?

SW

·
Registered
12,211 Posts
I remember reading a bit on a forum somewhere about an adapter or breech plug that utilizes an empty 25 auto case instead of a 209. The idea of using a center fire primer to ignite black powder for a muzzle loaded bullet actually came about around the time of the civil war. The maynard rifles went through a rapid evolution, even using center fire type cases with a percussion cap directly over the hole. By the late 1800's Harry Pope was making rifles in which a centerfire case full of powder was inserted under a bullet loaded from the muzzle and fired that way.

There are also adapters that use 22 blanks to ignite the charge.

·
Registered
550 Posts
Your welcom Seth.All that Hoop-La was to keep the breech plug clean.They figured the hot primers was too much and it was leaving a crud ring in the plug.My advise(again,LOL)stick with Blackhorn 209 powder.The stuff is incredible.Beyond believe accuracy and just keep loading shot after shot.Last shot is just as accurate as first shot.

·
Registered
3,581 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
TeflonDon said:
I have one of the 25 acp breechplugs for my encore. It closed up the groups for me