The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys, I am new to the world of ATVs. I am looking to buy used and seeing as this will be my first I don't want to break the bank. It will be used for light trail riding and plowing snow in the driveway. What should I be looking for in regards to engine size? Brand/ model? Fuel injected/ carb? Whats high mileage for an ATV? I'd like to keep it around $4k, is this a reasonable budget? Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
8,133 Posts
Fuel injection starts better in cold weather (snow plowing season).
I think 400 is big enough engine as far as power goes, for what you want to use it for.
The only advantages I could think of with bigger machines, would be if the machine had a longer/wider wheel base, and weighed a little more, it would probably ride better. Also, the heavier machine would help when snow plowing.
As far as brands......you will get a lot of different answers, most important is to go with a name brand......not a Chinese knock off piece of junk.
Honda/Polaris/Yamaha/Can Am all make pretty good machines. I'm not so fond of the Artic Cat/Suzuki....which are basically the same machine, although I am sure their are people who have had good luck with them as well.

·
Registered
9,647 Posts
I had a A/Cat and the machine was great.The Suzuki engine in it though was junk.It was the same 400cc engine Suzy,s used in their Vinson model they had at the time.If memory serves,mine was a 04.

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Great, thanks for the info guys. I figured a 400-500 would be sufficient for plowing. And I plan on sticking with the brand name (Yanaha, Kawi, honda etc). I've been looking on craigslist and have found a few that I may take a look at. They seem to have anywhere from 400-1200 miles on them. Obviously, the lower the mileage the better, but whats the life expectancy of an atv engine?

·
Registered
971 Posts