The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So...we have been taking our catches to a buyer...he is a very expirenced trapper...he told us to only use red fox urine for our sets and finish them with fresh bait and just a basic predator lure...he states a yore will take off a red....gray fox will take off a red..and a cat wil take off a red...which I think is kind of true...but it just feels like we should target a certain animal...does everybody use the urine they are trying to target or doesn't it really matter?

·
Super Moderator
12,829 Posts
I am no pro...far from it...

But that seems to be the norm....gland use is probably a bigger factor imo....urine evaportaes to ammonia real quick..sure some other smells are left..but urine is urine....ive read guys using their own....guys use their own to.make.mock buck scrapes for deer and have fantastic results....

Glands though smell much more like the critter...i carry red and yote glands...havent caught a red with yote gland...but have caught yotes with red gland...

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hmmm...that makes sense I guess..I don't think I'd use my own...although that would be pretty cheap...this time of year are you using long call lures? They say when it snows use lots of skunky smells?

·
Super Moderator
12,829 Posts
Yep...cold dry air hinders scent....i dont always use somethin skunky...but most of the time i do...at the set or dip a twig on a tree branch above the set in a call lure...

The most important thing in trapping ive learned is be ON location...if you have a set directly where a critter is going to walk it is much more prone to investigate....a few feet off location and you may not catch em...