The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3,318 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just thinking, which isn't always a good idea. We add beads for flash and weight, we add copper wire, add lead wire, split shot, etc all to get the nymphs down. Has anyone tried tinning a hook with solder or making a "bead" with a drop of solder? If so, did you have any success? What do you long time tiers think? I'm new to tying my own, but as I said, just thinking outside the box.

·
Registered
2,578 Posts
Might have a problem getting a good taper with it if u put it on the whole hook shank....boby taper is a key in fly tying

·
Registered
202 Posts
Get yourself some tungsten beads... they are heavier than any drop of lead solder you can add to a hook. when i add copper wire to my flies its more for durability than anything and the tungsten beads and lead underbody are as heavy as you can make a nymph. In all reality what I am getting at is a tungsten bead a lead underbody is maximum weight unless you add some shot to your line. Lead solder just seems like a waste of time to get less weight than what is possible.

·
Banned
2,894 Posts
The heat may soften or make brittle the hook wire. If you use heavy hooks, lead wire and/or beads, you can probably get them just as heavy with less work.
That said, give it a try. One of the best things about tying for yourself is the experimenting it allows.
Let us know how you make out.

·
Registered
2,085 Posts
A hook with a ball of lead on it is known as a jig head.

There are a few companies producing soft tungsten bodies that you can lash to the hook with thread. They are both tapered and segmented.

·
Registered
6,866 Posts
Re: Thinking outside the box. Is this a crazy idea

Lick Islander said:
Not that that's a bad thing though, right? A jighead with some marabou tied on is a pretty effective jig, errrr streamer. I've done that and caught trout.