The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to PA, just moved here form Missouri, and looking for game lands to archery hunt. I can find them easy enough, PA seems to have tons open to the public. How to you find out how heavily pressured the area is? seems like most everything on the eastern side of the state is within an hour of some major area (philly, reading, allentown/bethlehem, scranton, and so on) do you go to the lands and hike back in em? (which Im not afraid of) or just find different lands?

in missouri it was easier to find places away from large cities... any tips?

and Yeah, I know I can go door knocking, i've knocked on so many doors my knuckles bleed. no luck. One guy accused me of being the dude who shot a deer off his property last week with a crossbow.. i don't even own a crossbow. so that was fun... :oops:

·
Registered
143 Posts
Also consider state forest land as well as state game lands there are plenty of public land options in PA as you will discover. To get away from crowds find pieces where access may be difficult in the form of poor parking, steep terrain, long hikes off trail, water crossing etc. If you are in the Eastern part of Pa the Lehigh River Gorge and surrounding areas may provide you the opportunities you desire.

·
Registered
1,757 Posts
Not sure where in Pa you are located, but if it’s on the eastern side the gamelands will hunted pretty hard. Your best bet is the northern tier, tons of state land and It’s fairly remote by east coast standards.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #4