The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,296 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hot diggity hot dog!! One month away! This has to be my favorite hunting. Old Mossberg .22, thermos of coffee and snacks, couple hickory groves on the sunny side of a hill, noontime nap, may even pop a squirrel or two. I've been doing this for about 55 years and I still get excited. I was going to sell my old 1947 Mossy, but after a trip to the range, heck no!

·
Registered
7,391 Posts
I just had shoulder surgery, so hunting is on the back burner right now. Hopefully in a month or so I will be able to hunt with my .22 and get some woods time in too. Looking forward to it as well.

·
Registered
294 Posts
I'm with you on the squirrel excitement. I have been taking my neighbor (now 14) hunting for the past 2 seasons. It is great to be able to pass on what I know to him. I will be taking my single shot 20 gauge out when season gets here. It is the first gun I ever owned and is still my favorite.

·
Registered
3,680 Posts
I never really did it before bu I'm excited to give it a try. I owe my 9yr old nephew a few days afield either fishing or hunting so I've been thinking I would take him along for squirrel a few times.

He's good luck too, I took him for a hike with me in the woods & swamps near me once and we ended up seeing several deer, a flock of turkeys, a bear track and finally a big ol' raccoon.

·
Registered
19,940 Posts
I got the Wee Man his mentored license this year for his 8th birthday. He can't wait until the youth opener and hasn't been talking about anything else. He has a football game in the morning then it will be off to my buddy's woods for squirrels. I told him after football was done, we'd head up to camp and drive over to Kinzua to see about bagging some black squirrels. I used to love squirrel hunting when I was in my teens but moved on to other things as I got older. I'm excited to be doing it again.

·
Registered
8,214 Posts