The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
551 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am very new to the world of hunting - the kids, especially my oldest girl who has always been very outdoorsy and interested in wildlife, really pushed us to get involved in it as an outdoors activity we could all do together and we are trying to work out what the best starting point could be. We also have another member of the family, Annie the pit/beagle mix. At some point, we got to thinking that she might make a good squirrel dog and maybe we should start with taking her to see if she can tree squirrels for us. It's a nice social form of hunting and it would be easy on restless kids. Now Annie has been used to the life of Reilly and formerly lived a spoiled life in pudgy air-conditioned splendor in the suburbs of DC. We adopted her from my friend when she moved to upstate NY and we've been getting to know her personality since May so, 7 months), especially now that, for the first time, she's had a chance to be off-leash in a dedicated dog park near our house that has tons of trees, lots of ground cover and vegetation to sniff around in, and tons of squirrels now that it's Fall. Now, we live in the city and she lived in the city before but she's pretty happy when she's around waterfowl and squirrel when we take her camping or hiking. She trees squirrels every chance she gets, points and stalks and tries to run them down. Yesterday, her newly trim self even jumped up into a tree to try and climb after a squirrel. Part of me feels like it's kind of a crazy idea, and part of me feels like she would love a job to do beyond guarding the front door (that's the pit in her and the beagle needs something to do!). Treeing squirrels has been a "problem" for her because of the pulling and using her to hunt would turn a negative into a positive. What do you think? Would you attempt to turn a 4 year old "city" dog into a squirrel dog?