The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4,027 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We are getting a good accumulation of snow from the current storm. How will this type of thing affect pheasant survival? Since the snow reduces the quality of escape cover, we would expect a little higher predation. Pheasants tend to move to woody cover as the snow doesn't knock it down like it does the grass. Since we are almost in mid February, this storm should have little effect on populations. If this type storm happened in late December or early January, it could be a more serious problem. A snow cover this deep on the ground for many weeks could result in a difficult food situation as well as prolonged exposure to predation. We would provide supplemental feeding in areas of high bird populations but it would set back population growth. Hopefully spring is just a few weeks away.

·
Registered
12,200 Posts
I am no scientist, but this snow can't be good for any critter. I haven't seen a bird of any type in a few weeks and even the squirrels are not attacking my bird feeder.

·
Banned
26,979 Posts
My feeders are full of birds and the squirrels have been filling their bellies as well.

·
Registered
3,926 Posts
I remember the winter of 77/78,the quail in Pa. never recovered and many beleive it was the beginning of the end for pheasants!I hope the groundhog was wrong!

·
Registered
3,926 Posts
This snow is brutal,the best cover seems to be phragmites and cattails,some switchgrass seems to be holding up around here.
Lynn,The Courterman's farm that we surveyed was mostly Big Bluestem,how is it holding up?

·
Registered
4,027 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I haven't been over since the snow but I know what that farm looked like before the snow. I would think the birds have moved to woody cover areas on his farm and across the road. I'm going over tomorrow and check things out.

·
Registered
4,027 Posts
Discussion Starter #7