The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have about 6 acres that I could plant in switchcgrass in two different fields. After seeing Lynn Applemens presentation on the PF forum I am impressed with the cover it makes and would like opinions on whether it is a good idea on small plots. I am not in a good pheasant area but need cover for deer, grouse and rabbits. I have been planting white pine in one area and it has a lot of shrubs and berry vines that will soon make some cover it I let it go.

I need some quick shelter from hawks and owls.

Is there any food value to switchgrass?

If I go the switchgrass route, can i stil leave the other stuff in the plot to make a good mix?

·
Registered
4,335 Posts
If you plant it you will likely never get rid of it, its spreads like wildfire. I studied it at the USDA and yes switch is awesome.

Youll want to plant the perimeter to give you an entry when deer are in the plot so that they cant see you. Thats what switch is really good for as it grows 6+ feet.

Do you have a grain drill?

·
Registered
4,335 Posts
Quick shelter would happen a lot faster with hinge cuts

·
Registered
536 Posts
Switch is great. 6 acres is great. ANY switch of ANY size is great. I would not do a straight planting (monoculture) of it. It has no food value directly as a food itself.
I would plant with it a mix of Big blue stems, Indiangrass, and possibly either a mix or a separate side planting of pollinators.

Spend this year getting the soil ready in terms of weed control--don't rush planting it. If you don't have all weeds in control ahead of time you will be unhappy and out quite a bit of money.

Use a no-till drill for best results. Contact PF chapter for access to one.