The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I going to be using my slug gun for the first time in 15 years. What kind of 12 gauge slugs do you recommend? I don't want to buy tons of different slugs before deciding on a good one. My old arm may not take the kick!
Thanks

·
Registered
111 Posts
ide hate to break it to you but each gun shoots each kind of slugs differently. my father and I have 3 mossberg 695's 2 of them shoot the federal 2.75" barns 3/4 oz expander bullets pretty well. the other one is decent but not to my liking at 100 yds even though they are said to be 200 yard slugs. what kind of gun are you shooting?

·
Registered
897 Posts
Where we hunt in MD, it's "slugs only" so I have some first hand knowledge on this topic.
Jayk1410 is correct: different slugs, different slugs, different results.
Lightfields seem to receive very consistent + reports.
Again, it depends on the firearm.
My Ithaca M-87 looks the Walmart Winchesters BRI.

Good point about the cost for ten different brands and loads.

I'd recommend that you try at least three different brands and then learn to shoot the firearm with the best load.

You might have to limit your shots to 100 yards or less.

·
Registered
111 Posts
thats good point artsmag, it really makes a difference the farther you shoot. ive found that guns that shoot good at 50 yards with some loads are all over the place at 100

·
Registered
3,418 Posts
lighthouse said:
I going to be using my slug gun for the first time in 15 years. What kind of 12 gauge slugs do you recommend? I don't want to buy tons of different slugs before deciding on a good one. My old arm may not take the kick!
Thanks
Does your slug gun have a rifled barrel or smooth bore? In rifled barrels sabots are recommended, smooth bores usually shoot foster style slugs.

·
Super Moderator
13,700 Posts
The guys are right identical guns sometime/often shoot the same slugs differently.