The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright guys had an issue where I bumped my bow and my rest got moved. So took it to the shop to see my bow tech but he's on vacation but this other guy who I never saw before said he can help me. so anyway he said yeah the rest wasn't centered and he'd do it. So he did. He told me my left or right would just be off. So I came home set up my bag at 20 yards hitting way to the right. Adjust my sight again and again to the point where I'm maxed out to the right and still hitting to the right. So I think I know what to do but need some second opinions to make sure. I'm still new to this. So since I'm hitting to the right w my sight maxed to the right should I move the rest to the left?

·
Registered
291 Posts
If you run your sight to the left you will continue to move your shot to the right. Move your sight the way your hitting. You should move your sight to the right but as you say your maxed out. Sounds like a rest issue to me though. If you have green on the forks your most likely getting contact from fletching (I'm assuming your fletching is green).

·
Registered
5,838 Posts
You need to move your rest out away from the riser. Put an arrow on your rest in the up position and take a measurement from the riser to the center of the arrow. Take note of the measurement and move it out 3/16 of an inch to start. Next sight your bow in for 20 yards. Now walk back tune to check your centershot. You can google walk back tuning for info, but basically pick a spot at the top of your target and using your 20 yard pin shoot one arrow. Then using your 20 yard pin only, shoot one arrow at 25, 30 and 35. Now see if your arrows are hitting straight in line down the target with the 20 yard arrow. If they are angling to the right down the target bump your rest out a little and walk back tune again until your arrows hit inline with the 20 yard arrow. Good Luck.

·
Registered