The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Super Moderator
4,565 Posts
Glad you are having fun.I like shooting my Excal.Is it pretty accurate?Do you mind letting us know what you decided on?I know there are a ton to choose from and more every day almost.

·
Registered
1,757 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I got a "BEAR FORTUS". It came with a scope ,quiver,3 arrows and tips plus the rope for cocking it. Cost me $279.
I am the kind of guy who doesn't like to tell people what i have bought?
Why ? Because i don't like to hear you got ripped or you should have got this one or the other one !
I started playing with a stick bow in 1955 and jumped to a re-curve in 1959 to hunt with. I still have a few of them. Compound bows came next and were the last ones that i used till i quit archery hunting in 1990!

Any how. This crossbow shoots so fast and is so accurate my old eyes can't see the bolt going thru the air but just hear if thump into the target after i pull the trigger!
Crossbows have one thing i don't like and have to get use to? That is the bulkiness of the limbs being 90 degrees to the stock !
A friend of mine offered me to come to his place to shoot it in . His father used a crossbow before he passed a couple of years ago. My buddy knew a good bit about shooting these from he and his father playing with them. He was tremendous help and i thank him.
We played for hours and he was shooting "MY BOW" into 3 shot groups so tight i was afraid he was going to Robin Hood my only 3 bolts,so i quit. That was at 40 yards!
I will most likely shot it so much,just playing with it, i will wear the rope cocker out !!!!!!!

·
Registered
254 Posts
I enjoyed my Bear Fortus this year. I shot a buck and a doe with it using 125 grain rage broadheads. Both deer ran 45 yards and were down with a great blood trail to follow.

·
Super Moderator
7,757 Posts