The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Super Moderator
24,059 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I’ve been wanting to have a solid shooting bench for quite some time now so I searched the internet for some plans. I found a picture of one with dimensions so I studied the picture and here’s what I came up with.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
24,059 Posts
Discussion Starter #5

·
Super Moderator
24,059 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
very impressive , can you post specs , would like to build one at camp
I’ll see if I can find the pic again I deleted it off my phone

·
Super Moderator
24,059 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
They’re attached to the bench

·
Super Moderator
24,059 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
After using this sighting guns in I found the dimensions for the seats rather small. I've decided to cut the middle brace out and redo it so I can fit both legs in. It would be a lot more comfortable shooting. Pics to follow when spring gets here :grin2:

·
Registered
2,717 Posts
If you are reworking it you should think about making the seats separate from the bench. With everything connected like it is now any body movement on the seat will be transferred onto the bench.

Good luck, Tony

·
Super Moderator
24,059 Posts
Discussion Starter #15

·
Super Moderator
24,059 Posts
Discussion Starter #16

·
Registered
522 Posts
On my bench I have one leg that moves up and down, I can make it solid on any unlevel ground.
A piece of 1 inch pvc pipe, pt 2x4, 1/4 inch all thread and wing nuts,
cut 2x4 31/2 inch square need 2.
hole saw in center so pipe fits in.
before you cut it in half drill 2 holes for all thread or lag bolts will work
cut 2x4 in half, screw 1/2 to the table.
cut 1 more 2x4 and hole saw same as the other 2.
slide pipe into hole drill 1/4 inch hole through 2x4 and pipe
secure with a 1/4 inch bolt. this touches the ground.