The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1,422 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well i'm gonna try and explain this the best i can about choosing the right MD for you. Now as many are aware there are vast variety of metal detectors available,but choosing the right one for a new person to this hobby can be quite overwhelming from all the many options available.Now i have been detecting on and off for probably 10 years or better and have had some pretty expensive machines in the time,but let me say 1 thing,They all do the same thing and that's detect metal objects.Your gonna go through the grass is greener on the otherside thing as we all did at 1 point in time,but if you give your new machine the time and learn what it's telling you you'll do just as good with it as the other guy swinging the $1000 machine.I have had Minelabs,Whites,Teknetics and so on,but know what i use now? A Tesoro Compadre $169 machine and to be honest i enjoy this machine more then the others i have had,just plain and simple and it get's the job done,1 knob and that's it,couldn't get any simpler,but do your homework,ask questions the more the better and don't think you need a Cadilac when maybe a Volkswagon will do what you need.Rich

·
Registered
540 Posts
I agree.

A metal detector is similar to any other tool, gun, or fishing rod in that success is in how well YOU can use it.

·
Registered
11,357 Posts
Garrett makes some pretty nice machines for the price. If they are within your budget, I would look at the ace350 on the low end or the AT Pro on the high end.

I've used White's, Garrett and Minelab. My Minelab has a TTF feature which allows me to see any metal in highly mineralized soil, often times grabbing targets that my hunting partners have walked right over.