The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
12,199 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I have been shooting recurves for almost 2 years now and I just could not get to a level that was not an embarrasment. I tried webpages, as many different postures and methods as I could come up with in my head and then even books. Nothing worked until I read Byron Fergusons "Become the Arrow" and it was like a key had turned a lock. It worked for me relative to accuracy and confidence. When he described the "split vision" approach it made sense to me and when I applied it, it worked. I am seriously considering taking my bow rather than flinter during the Primative Season after Christmas.

·
Registered
1,373 Posts
I'm glad I found this thread--I was wanting to respond to your comment in the bow I had for sale.

For those not seeing the add it was for a Bear Kodiak Magnum, 45# pull. jimsdad said he wished it had 10# more pull--which I understand--but it also made me think about the progression I and the industry have gone through over the years--and the net result.

I started with a long bow which I believe was on the order of 48#. Then the 45# recurve, then a compound (to be listed soon) of I think 65# and now a crossbow at 150# plus.

...and now as I look back at all that---they all made deer just as dead---and by far the most comfortable and enjoyable to shot was the long bow--no sights--only fingers for release--no frills---and soooo much fun

·
Registered
12,199 Posts
Discussion Starter #4