The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I graduated from Penn St in 2005. The entire time I attended, Scotia Game lands were off limit to grouse hunting, due to a grouse/habitat study. I believe it has recently ( 3-4yrs ) been open to grouse hunting. Has anyone hunted it, w/success? I tried last week and it seems that the clear cuts are to mature. Also does anyone know the results of the study?

·
Registered
862 Posts
It was a waist of time... why do a Grouse study in a City. that makes no since. The study could have been done a lot better.

·
Registered
1,462 Posts
pheasants said:
It was a waist of time... why do a Grouse study in a City. that makes no since. The study could have been done a lot better.
LOL have you ever hunted it? It Ain't no city...

·
Registered
1,462 Posts
I hunt it all the time for rabbits, there are huge patches that are so thick you cannot hardly get through them, and if there is no snow on the ground you can't see the rabbits. you must have been in a bad spot. It's all patchwork with differing ages of cuts...

·
Registered
2,436 Posts
I hunted it once, seen some grouse. I never seen the study results. The only thing it resulted in the day I was there was ALOT of ticks. I will never hunt it again, so have at it!!

·
Registered
75 Posts
I hunted it for the first time this fall - was a nice little day trip from where I live. I would disagree that the cuts are "too mature" - at least not some of the stuff I was in. I couldn't swing a gun in some of the blocks and the growth was barely higher than my 5'6" head. Other blocks were more mature, but even in some of those blocks I moved birds (grouse or w'cock).

I didn't move a ton of birds in the 3-4 hours I hunted it but enough to keep me happy for that day (3 grouse, 4 woodcock for about a 2/hr flush rate).

It does get hunting pressure though, I can tell that. I hunted on a weekday and still saw several other guys.