The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Super Moderator
4,849 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking for a quality scope $1000 or less.Leuoplds what differs between a VX-2 and VX-3?I have an older 10 power don't even know the model.I looked at Nikons.Have a 3-9 on my 204.Problem is my eyes are getting older getting light on or from the target is getting worse.I would like to get 2 good scopes for my 2 main rifles.Hopefully under my price limit or one really good scope for just one.I'm talking about 200 plus yards.I'm good on deer with any scope under that.Just need one for varmints.Need opinions from a few guys or gals that have them.If you reply please state magnification of your scope.

·
Registered
1,824 Posts
i'm no scope expert , but I stay at a holiday inn express recently.
i'm also in the process of upgrading most of my optics.

I wouldn't worry about magnification as much as I would objective diameter if light gathering is what your after.

with quality optic glass I can see well enough thru a 40mm objective .I recently upgraded my .22lr from an old inexpensive 3x9x25mm that no longer holds center to a Nikon 3x9x40mm rimfire scope.
they were both the same magnification however the increase in objective diameter feels like the sight picture and brightness more then doubled.

another thing to pay attention to is the eye relief and having some useable play in the distance.
I also found choosing a reticle more important then the magnification.
for my .22 I choose a BDC, for my deer gun I prefer a fine crosshair and honestly i'm not sure what I prefer on an AR yet

·
Registered
1,064 Posts
Im a leupold guy myself have a couple and to me i think theyre the best. Have two redfields as well, and theyre great scopes for the money, just have to get the revolution, theyre on par with a vx 1 atleast and nipping at the heels of a vx2

·
Registered
5,636 Posts
If you like Leupold, stick with them.