The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Have been looking into buying an inexpensive crossbow for my 15 year old son, and ran across the Ripper crossbow. Haven't found too many reviews on it, but the specs look good. Anyone know anything about this model? Or any other recommendations? I don't want to spend a boat load of cash to get him started.

·
Registered
12,364 Posts
Personally I would look at getting a Wicked Ridge Crossbow which is made by Tenpoint. You get great customer service and warranty if you need it.

·
Registered
241 Posts
I'm totally new to crossbows and didn't want to spend a bundle to find out if I liked it or not. I decided I wanted to keep it simple and go with Excalibur. I found a guy in Lancaster selling a Exocet complete set up for $375. I'm more that happy with it....and my wife is very happy I don't have too much invested LOL

·
Registered
6,472 Posts
I'm glad that I did buy into Wicked Ridge... We have two of them... Like anything else they can break...Have two broken Wicked Ridge now but....I took them to a bow shop.. They called wicked ridge and they are covered under warranty. So They will fix it. No cost for the repairs. Just the shipment to the WR. Did it hurt me that the cams cracked ... Yes... I should have checked them out earlier. My fault I could have returned them in the off season.. However things like crossbows are going to break.. Figure how much action and pressure that is involved.. But WR is making it better so it's true that they do give excellent service. None of that stuff that once they get your money you Lose!!!

·
Registered
6,472 Posts