The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
3,926 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I absolutely love this gun. I have been using since 1972, I can't tell you how many deer it has taken in numerous states. The memories are countless, most of my deer hunting stories revolve around this gun.This year for the first time it may have let me down.
On the first Tuesday of the rifle season I saw the biggest buck of my life, it was an easy shot but somehow I missed, went to load another round but nothing, the clip didn't push the shell up! After recovering, I noticed that when locked my fore-arm piece is real loose. I hadn't noticed this happening over the years. My question is can this be tighten up? I have already gotten a new clip. Thanks!

·
Registered
3,926 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks! After posting I was reading some of the other threads and noticed it mentioned. It figures it would go when it did!

·
Registered
3,770 Posts
Probably never happen again in your life, but why couldn't it happen on the range, not with a buck in the crosshairs !

·
Registered
3,926 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
You're right, and it wasn't only that, but I usually keep a free bullet in an open pocket for just this sort of thing.But not on this day!After missing, I tried twice to get another round in, the biggest buck of my life stood broadside 40 yrds away and I was helpless.It was like the perfect storm! This was a "huge" buck that almost didn't look real.

·
Registered
4,190 Posts
of the 760-7600's i've seen malfunction in the field it wouldn't be my first choice. i've also seen as many perform. seen one that wouldn't lock closed on factory ammo

·
Registered
2,487 Posts