The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
226 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been kicking around the idea of tinkering with My 700 ADL in 270. It's an older gun,but shoots great and shoulders like putting on your favorite pair of slippers. First thing I'd like to do is replace the trigger. I was thinking of using the new X-Mark trigger,but won't rule out a Timney or Rifle Basix. A few years back, I thought I had a "Remington Moment" so I want to rule out any possibility of that happening again. I wouldn't mind changing to a BDL type stock and floor plate, but that would mean getting a new stock/recoil pad,and would change the way the rifle feels(although, I haven't ruled out the thought). I have seen a lot of XCR stocks on line cheap,but are guys getting rid of them for a reason? Finally, I have to upgrade My scope. I have A Nikon 3-9x40 Buckmaster on another rifle and like it, But was thinking about the Nikon Monarch for this one. Sorry if I rambled,but I have gotten some good advice on here in the past, and always enjoy peoples comments, so,Have at it. Let Me know what You think.

·
Registered
1,102 Posts
If it's an older Remington why a new trigger. They are adjustable from about a 1 1/2 to 5 pounds. You could always cut the stock you have to fit the BDL floorplate. As far as a scope the Monachs are good scopes. Also check out the vortex scopes, I bought 1 last spring & am very impresssed with it.

·
Registered
821 Posts
I have a Remington Sportsman 78 (cheap version of 700ADL) that I did a few upgrades to like your talking about. I was nervous over touching the rifle since it is such a sweet shooter. But I plowed ahead and put a BDL stock on it with the hinged floor plate. Added a Nikon scope to it also. It still shoots just as nice and looks twice as good. I thought about replacing the trigger or even adjusting the existing one but ended up leaving it alone for now.

·
Registered
5,790 Posts