The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 700, 22-250, that was manufactured in the '70s, I have been using it for 10+ years with no problem until this past week.
After I cycle the action and put the saftey on, it is fine. But if the trigger is bumped while the saftey is on, it will fire as soon as the saftey is pushed off. If the trigger is not touched or bumped it will not fire when the saftey is pushed off.

My question is what should I do? Should I send it back to Remington to be fixed? or Is there any local shops in SW PA that can fix it? or Will an aftermarket trigger assembly fix this?

I've searched a good bit on the web about this and all I get done reading is people criticising Remington for letting this go and then it starts an argument. I dont't care about all that crap, I just want the gun fixed right!

·
Registered
3,119 Posts
DO NOT take it to a local shop where you WILL pay the bill.. Contact Remington customer service and discuss it with them..Most likely they will give you shipping instructions for the rifle and fix it free of charge and ship it back to you free..

·
Registered
557 Posts
Sounds like more of the SAME issues highlighted by the NBC Dateline episode.

I agree with Burk313, I would not use the gun until it is fixed. Good luck to you, and please keep us posted.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
After this happend it went right back into the cabinet.

I will definately talk to Remington.

To my knowledge the trigger has not been touched. My dad has owned it since the late '80s, before that I don't know. It's just weird that I have been using for years without a single problem until now.

·
Registered
3,284 Posts