The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
708 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Remington Mohawk 600 in 6MM that I have been shooting for 30 years. My son has used it for the last couple years. Well this year the quick release on the sling got bumped and the gun got bumped as a result. The stock forearm has a slight crack in it now. This gun has always been a great shooter no matter what ammo you feed it. I want to redo the gun at this point. I have looked at the HS Precision, Ramline, Boyds etc stocks. Any recommendations on a redo of the old Mohawk? I like the "look" of the HS Precision in Desert camo but don't like the $465 price tag. Are they worth it? Should I get a ramline and have it camo'd????? Any tips appreciated.

·
Registered
708 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ken,
I thought about that but wanted to dress it up a little. The factory stocks weren't the greatest.

Can anyone recommend a local camo dipper if I decide to go that way?

·
Registered
2,264 Posts
Potter Bound, I had a 1 pc. stock done at Liquid Illusions in camo. They did a beautiful job, and great to deal with. Now the gun is just right for my taste. Kevin is top notch....later

·
Registered
708 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Great sites. I like the idea of doing my own stock.
Thanks!

·
Registered
708 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
b&ghuntre said:
Potter Bound, I had a 1 pc. stock done at Liquid Illusions in camo. They did a beautiful job, and great to deal with. Now the gun is just right for my taste. Kevin is top notch....later
OK - if I don't do my own it's good to hear of reputable sources.

·
Registered
1,340 Posts
Numrich has a beautiful walnut stock with cut checkering that looks like your original stock, but a lot nicer. I have one on my .308 Mohawk.

·
Registered
1,467 Posts