The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
During my daily walk to check my traps I noticed that something had been caught in on of my sets but eventually escaped. I looked for prints to see what it might have been but the ground was pretty hard and I couldn't find any prints. You can see in the picture that it started to form a catch circle before it got out. As this is my first year trapping I was unsure on whether to remake the set or move the trap? Thanks for any suggestions.

·
Registered
310 Posts
If that was a canine then odds are you will have to pick him up in a completely different looking and smelling set. Was there any fur in the jaws? I would personal probably remake a set right on the edge of that circle since it has a pretty pronounced edge. Are your swivels fouled up? How long is your chain/ cable apparatus? From the pic it looks like you have a trap chain and then some cable for a total of about 18 inches. The more momentum they can create the easier they can yank out if the catch isn't secure.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I don't recall the total length with the chain and cable but your guess is probably close. I'll see if I can shorten it up. There was absolutely no fur in the jaws at all. I don't know if it makes a difference but it's an older victor trap that my grandfather gave me, he said it was for fox and that's what I was trying for in that set. The springs seemed strong when was making adjustments to the trap before the season. I just installed all new swivels and when I examined the set they still looked good. I'll try remaking the set on the edge of the circle and see what happens.

·
Registered
631 Posts