The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
3,620 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys Im just getting into shooting trap and I love it!
I have a lee load all 2 12 gauge shotshell press. Where can I get reasonably cheap components to reload 2 3/4" 7 1/2-9 trap shells? Any tips or tricks?

·
Registered
180 Posts
Well...what hulls are you using? You will hafta buy wads that fit your hull. Being new to trap shooting im assuming your shooting from the 16 yard line. Im gonna be honest with you here, I enjoy reloading but with the current price of components plus your time you may as well go buy a case of rios from pm supply. I use the 3 dram equiv with 1 ⅛ of 8 shot. You get a 10 box case for about $60 and from the 16 there is no difference between them and federal gold metals or any of the other higher priced shells. If you still wanna reload you can pm me and ill help you to the best of my ability.

·
Registered
180 Posts
Scratch that 1&8538 my phone put it there and for some reason i cant edit it. Its supposed to say 1 1/8 ounce of 8 shot

·
Banned
1,072 Posts
clearfield12 said:
Where can I get reasonably cheap components to reload 2 3/4" 7 1/2-9 trap shells? Any tips or tricks?
Sadly, as we all know, the days of "reasonably priced" are gone.

However, there are a few corners you can cut without affecting anything.

First is wads. Skip the Win or Rem brands. I shoot Claybusters at about half the cost. There are others as well. Just look for "AA clones" and you'll find replacements for the big name brands.