The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9,330 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have never used a rangefinder before but I think it is time to invest in one. After 25 yards I am having trouble judging distance.
Just curious how many of you use them and if anyone has any recommendations on a good one to buy?

·
Registered
3,127 Posts
For Archery hunting you can buy a cheap one but if your going out West and hunting big game and spending alot of money then buy a good Leupold or Nikon.

·
Registered
1,855 Posts
I use bushnell rangefinders (what we sell at work). They are golf models, but I just use a golf model for hunting as well. They have great customer service should a problem arise, but we have sold around 50 or so of them, and I can only remember 2 or 3 that had any type of problem, and they were an older model. The model I've been using is the Tour V2, which is similar to the scout (I believe) in their hunting line.

·
Super Moderator
12,819 Posts
Before range finders...I walked about a mile and a half to and from work on the nice days Summer and Winter just for the fun and exercise.

During that walk I would guess the distance to different objects and then step it off...change the objects and distances every day. I did this for a few years and thus, became every accurate to guessing ranges to 60 + yards. If you are not ready to adapt this option. I would think any of the range finders on today's market would be very accurate to archery ranges....If you are for saving $$ I don't believe camo is any plus if camo increases the price. I believe they will perform just as well in other colors....

Oh and I saved enough in travel expenses to buy a nice bow, license and the accessories I need.....

·
Registered
615 Posts