The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i am new to hunting this year being my first. what are your opions on range finders with angle intelligence. is it worth the money. or just put up your stand and keep practicing.

·
Registered
1,109 Posts
For mountain spot & stalk they are an asset, not so much for treestand hunting.

For treestand hunting 20 feet up at 20 yards will only be about a 1 yard cut, but a 50 yard shot down a mountain at 30 degree angle would be a 20 yard cut. In other words to hit the target you would need to shoot your 30 yard pin.

·
Super Moderator
1,740 Posts
I started using one a few years ago and I really like it. I feel a person can judge distance pretty good out to 25yds with some practice. When you get beyond that and factor in the the varying heights of stand placement with the dip in terrain it becomes complicated in my opinion. Thr range finder I use has the angle compensation and when I check the range from time to time I get surprised and I have been bowhunting for s long time. The one I bought was the chuck adams edition and it was on sale for $149. It makes you so confident and that makes you a better shot. I also think it is real handy when hunting at field edges as its hard to judge distance accurately on open fields. What I would do is try and find someone who has one and see if you can borrow it for a couple days then you will know if you need one.

·
Registered
12,352 Posts