The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,303 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Figured I would post this for everyone. Seems there are always questions about private gun sales. Maybe the mods can make it a stick?

Private / Secondary Sales
An unlicensed seller may only sell a handgun or other firearm within the definition in 18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 6102 to an unlicensed purchaser at the place of business of a licensed importer, manufacturer, dealer or county sheriff's office. 18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 6111(c), (f)(1), (2). The licensed importer, manufacturer, dealer or sheriff must comply with all of the dealer regulations set forth in the Pennsylvania Dealer Regulations section, including a background check on prospective purchaser. Section 6111(a), (c). These requirements do not apply to transfers between spouses, parents and children, and grandparents and grandchildren. Section 6111(c). These requirements also do not generally apply to transfers of long guns. Section 6111(f)(2).

Any seller who delivers a firearm to an individual who is not eligible to possess a firearm commits a third degree felony. Section 6111(g)(2). Any seller who delivers a firearm in violation of the requirements of sections 6101-6162 and "who has reason to believe that the firearm is intended to be used in the commission of a crime or attempt to commit a crime" can be held civilly and criminally liable for said crime or attempted crime. Sections 6111(g)(5) and 6111(g)(6). See the Pennsylvania Immunity Statutes/Manufacturer Litigation section. Any person who knowingly and intentionally delivers a firearm to a person less than 18 years of age who does not fall into a limited exception to possess a firearm commits a felony of the third degree. Section 6110.1(c); see also the Pennsylvania Minimum Age to Purchase/Possess section.

No seller shall deliver a handgun or other firearm within the definition in 18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 6102 to the purchaser or transferee unless the firearm is securely wrapped and unloaded. Section 6111(a).

Finally, section 6302 prohibits any person from selling or leasing any deadly weapon or ammunition cartridge to any person under 18 years of age. This prohibition does not apply to hunting by minors in accordance with the Game and Wildlife Code, 34 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 101 et seq.

Private sales of a long gun are legal without paperwork but it is a felony offense if you sell a long gun (or any gun for that matter) to a prohibited person. Just food for thought when selling a gun to n unknown person. Handgun sales require a backround check unless between immediate family.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,072 Posts
You should define immediate family. Pa specifically states Parent or grandparent to child, spouse to spouse, sibling to sibling. However; Aunts, Uncles, etc. do not count.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,442 Posts
These requirements do not apply to transfers between spouses, parents and children, and grandparents and grandchildren. Doesn't talk about aunts and uncles!
 
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
Top