The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am dying to get into blackpowder again, but I have limited knowledge. I have an TC Hawken .50cal flintlock that is at least 25-30yrs old, but it will fit the bill.

Haven't shot it in ten yrs or so, recently I cannot get the flints to spark. I have powder, patches, borebutter, and Remington brand roundballs. I remember using a 90gr charge that was pretty accurate with this rifle/ball combination.

Does anyone know of any shops that can work on my rifle or have any opinions that can get me on the right track? Any place specialize in black powder in the Scranton-Poconos-Lehigh valley area?
Thanks in advance,
Buster

·
Registered
282 Posts
1)nap you flint... (chip away the old portion) or if it is "double edged" flip it around
2)position/reposition the flint to hit the striker square i have mine set to hit 1/2 2/3 the way up and have never had an issue...
3)remove oil / grease / tarnish off the striker plate
i would try these first before taking it to a shop...

love to help in person, but i'm on the MD border...

·
Registered
1,542 Posts
Most likley your frizzen has become"soft". You can get it rehardened but it is more cost effective to get a replacement frizzen.Dixon's muzzleloading shop is located in Kempton ,not far off of 78. You could also check with Track of The Wolf for a replacement frizzen. I'm assuming you have tried new flints. There are other places to get TC parts from these are two that I know. You could also try Thompson Center for a replacement. Good Luck!

·
Registered
465 Posts
I live in Bethlehem and have been shooting blackpowder for over 30 years. We should get together and I can help you out at a local range in your area. Let me know...

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #5