The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,590 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've never done ground jerky before, but some other threads have gotten me interested in trying some this weekend. Here's the recipe I found that looked pretty good to me:

5 pounds ground deer meat
4 teaspoons canning salt
1 1/2 teaspoons Tender Quick®
1 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup dark corn syrup
2 tablespoons liquid smoke
1 tablespoon white pepper

I don't have a shooter, so my procedure would be like this:

1) Mix all ingredients, and let sit overnight in fridge
2) Roll out mix onto wax paper to about 1/4 inch thick
3) Transfer rolled mix onto wire rack on cookie sheet
4) Bake at 200 deg with door cracked 2 hours
5) Remove from oven and use pizza cutter to cut into 1in strips
6) Return to oven same temp to finish drying (2-4 hours).

I do have a dehydrator, but I'm not thrilled with the way it eats electricity for 4-6 hours. Plus I'm not confident it gets hot enough to do jerky safely. I could do first 2 hours in oven, then 2 hours in dehydrator, if someone is convinced I'd get a better result.

·
Registered
3,364 Posts
pretty close to mine...it's tasty.

you don't have to get it HOT, you are CURING the meat, not cooking it. A dehydrator removes moisure, and the tenderquick inhibits the little nasties that can kill us. I just run with the dehydrator and we've never gotten sick or had the poops from mine.

I also like to add some red pepper flakes.

if you live near a Trader Horn or if you get down to butler (i know there's one in butler) you can get a shooter there (a good LEM one) for 15 bucks. I love mine and use it ALOT. I've converted about 45 lbs of ground to jerky this past year using the shooter and a cheap ronco dehydrator that I added a small PC muffin fan to.

·
Registered
1,823 Posts
I use the jerky shooter and it is important that the meat is cool so it is easier to work without tears.

·
Registered
3,364 Posts