The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 150 Posts

·
Banned
491 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First, let me begin by saying I can respect most anyones post that is based on their own experiences afield, or any post that seems to have been given some semblance of thought.

I have been reading many of the no more deer posts, and it has caused me to think... I base what i am about to write based on my own experiences, and the rest is just thought - I cant prove it, i only believe it to be true.

I have been hunting 2A and 2B since 1992. Over those years, I have changed as a hunter, and also seen changes in other hunters. I notice each year when I take my rifle afield, I see fewer deer.... than I do during archery season.

I believe something that has accounted for many of the NO deer posts are from folks who choose to hunt rifle? There are more archers than there were in 1992. Archery equipment is better than it was in 1992. Generally speaking, I believe overall there are fewer people hunting - kids have alternative activities. During rifle, we count on others to move deer. More folks are successful during archery than 1992? less deer will be in the woods come archery time. Less hunters = less pressure.

Urban sprawl has pushed deer from what used to be habitats - I know of several places i used to hunt that are now developed. Less land available = fewer hunting opportunities.

I think there have been effects not related to some greater conspiracy of the PGC at work here. I believe they do the best they can, but they cant control the changes to hunting that i described above.

So what can we do, take up archery, find more private land to hunt, take advantage of state game lands, travel to other areas of the state to hunt, change your tactics, take a youth hunting.... I think instead of constantly looking for someone else to provide the answer, we can find it on our own...