The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just as the title suggests, it's been every bit of 30 years since I went deer hunting. And that was bowhunting in NJ. Hoping to get back at it this year, unless I'm late to the party.

Looking to use a rifle this time around. Started doing some research earlier this year, and it's like trying to drink from a firehose! Took my PA hunter safety course and have the certificate, so I'm ready to purchase the license. Now to figure out how to best put it to use.

At this stage, I'm open to any and all recommendations. Where? When? With whom? Use a guide? Hunting lodge? Go it alone on state game lands? I'll probably think of a dozen more questions as soon as I hit "Post thread."

A little more about myself, if anyone's interested....
I live in eastern PA. Broadcast engineer by profession. Avid shooter for many years. When not at work or the range, I'm usually at my workbench, building a model airplane or a piece of audio gear out of vacuum tubes, or spending time with the family.

I very much look forward to chatting with everyone.

·
Registered
6,485 Posts
Welcome to HPA. My suggestion would try your hand at the State Game Lands . Then join a gun club and meet some new friends and maybe get invited to their camp. Feel free to ask questions , because there is a lot of expertise on here and a lot of varied opinions as well.

·
Registered
832 Posts
Do a web search for your recommendations you might find a club with a opening here in the east. If not search the game land maps there are some property owners that work with the PGC and open their property to hunters, most property's are marked with a small orange round ball on the PGC maps. Good luck with your search.

·
Registered
1,980 Posts