The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,290 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So just picked up a few weeks ago my sons new Howa 2n1 rifle in 7mm 08 from shop in Washington Pa. Had them mount a vortex crossfire 3x9x40 and all was right in the world

After a couple trips to the range however now I am noticing that the scope is loose in the rings, I see marks on the scope where its evidently moving forward on recoil. I tried to tighten the rings but I cant seem to turn them any further, and the scope will turn with just with hand pressure. I'm not sure what kind of rings they used, cant see name on the ring anywhere??

I think I'm going to go back to the shop, I'm a novice but it almost seems like they're either the wrong size ring or bad.

Recoil on 7mm08 is not great so I really do not think it should loosen rings, and i definitely shouldnt be able to turn the scope with my hand.

Anyone have any thoughts

·
Registered
7,588 Posts
Take it back....have them give you a new scope and the proper rings....or get your money and take your business somewhere else....simple as that.

·
Registered
5,643 Posts
Take it back. Pretty difficult to get the wrong size as most scopes will take one of 2 ring sizes. is there any gap between your rings, or is there a large gap on one side and none on the other?

A 7-08 shouldn't move the scope whatsoever. I wouldn't let on that you tried to tighten the rings any further or you may get the blame for any damage done to the tube?

Care to give a hint of what shop? I have my suspicions

·
Registered
1,290 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yep I'm with you.

Shop is on West Chestnut Street.

Wish I would have just put on the scope myself, now I've got another 45 minute drive to see them

Owner kept bsing with the locals coming in and took about an hour and a half to get out of there.

·
Registered
12,175 Posts