The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to flintlock rifle shooting. Have read as muych as I can find on the Internet and visited a shop yesterday to see what I could find out about getting started. I am wondering about the powder that is used. I have read a few places that said to only use real black powder, and not black powder substitutes. Is that the usual practice of FL shooters? Or, are the BP substitutes considered to be acceptable? And, is it even possible for someone to buy and store real BP? Where do I get it and what are the rules for storing it, etc? Do I need a permit or something?
thanks.

·
Registered
1,330 Posts
Re: Black powder or BP substitutes??

personally I prefer real BP. In my flinter it seems to burn faster and shoots better, besides I like the way it smells. Finding real BP is not as hard as you might think. You just have to ask the guy at the counter. They normally keep it in the back room and they will ask you for your DL. It is cheaper than the subs and you need no permit for it.

·
Registered
536 Posts

It's hard to beat real black powder in a flintlock, use FFG or FFFG in the bore & FFFFG in the pan.
As for storage ask your local fire dept. about any rules etc.

·
Registered
1,330 Posts

I normally keep my powder in a military ammo can. It keeps out moisture, but I don't think it would really help in an explosion

·
Registered
6,413 Posts

No permit for Blackpowder needed as long as you have less than #50 at home.The reason the Blackpowder works better over the subs is Blackpowder has a flash pt of around 350 degrees where the subs are 700-950 degrees.This meens Blaxckpowder gives faster ignition.Subs work better in inlines where there is a hotter,more direct spark.
For the flinters,stick with the real stuff.

·
Banned
1,109 Posts