The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here is the setup.
I do most of my deer hunting in Potter County, the Conrad area. Been hunting there since the mid 70’s. If you have hunted that area you know that you can find yourself 1 to 3 miles from a road pretty quickly. The issue is not antler restriction, I started practicing that long before it was mandated. Deer population very low for a lot of reasons, that’s a whole other topic. I have been lucky enough to harvest a 9 point last year and a 7 point this year, both being respectable not huge 15” or so inside spreads.

The problem
The problem is twofold size of the deer and my age. These buck were both in the 140 pound range field dressed. I was lucky enough not being way back in where I have shot buck in the past. Dragging uphill would not have been an option alone.

I was just wondering if any of you are experiencing this problem?

·
Banned
10,004 Posts
Yep. At age 70 it isn't as easy as it used to be.

Fortunately I have a couple of younger guys who hunt with me who insist upon my carrying a radio and they come to help me drag mine out when I get one. What was it Crocodile Dundee said about "Mates?" They are pretty handy to have around at such times.

·
Registered
3,440 Posts
I also hunt by myself and a deer cart is the best thing there is at my age.

·
Registered
5,576 Posts
The Unstated Problem

The universal problem of hunters as we age. Hunters aging into their thirties, forties and fifties and more, and still hunting.
It's not the area of a 20 year old fit paratrooper.

Unless we maintain our physical fitness, we'll become like the many Americans who gained twenty pound or more in the last ten years and are getting more and more out of shape.