The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My name is Kelli Gill and I live in Altoona Pennsylvania and this is my story.
I’ve been hunting for almost fifteen years in a small area just outside of State College PA called Graysville. We moved to Graysville PA when I was fourteen years old and got permission from our neighbor to hunt on his 86 acre property. Years of success keeps me returning to this property season after season. Since then, I have moved to Altoona but still keep contact with our Graysville neighbors. They have been beyond gracious allowing my family to return each year to continue to make more life changing memories and here’s my story.
I woke that chilly morning to my alarm, it was only 2am. I grudgingly got to my feet and headed for the shower, not looking forward to the days’ events. Yes, I had to go to work today. I grumbled through my morning decaf and then realized that it was my last day of work for the week and I had forgotten about going hunting after work. Suddenly my day had brightened. I smiled the whole way to work and prayed for the day to fly by.
Before I knew it, it was 3pm and I was on my way out the door. I never ran so fast to my car, I had high hopes for my short period in the woods. I was running through my timing for the remainder of my day, “ok,..get to Bresler’s, that’s about twenty minutes without getting pulled over, get changed as fast as possible, that’s about another fifteen minutes,..well considering I was four months pregnant, maybe more,…and get going back into the woods.”
I arrived on time, (no cops on the way), and got changed as fast as I was allowed, and headed back saying my hunting prayer the whole way. Walking back seemed to take forever since I was “hunting” on my way in. Walking quietly, paying special attention since it was almost 4pm and deer would be up and moving for the evening.