The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Super Moderator
2,378 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had this goofy obsession since I was a kid. Keeping track of how many deer I see, birds I see, shots I take . . . ad infinitum. I've been keeping a spreadsheet for the past 11 years, tracking different statistics each time I go out hunting. Here is some of the "what does it take" data from my experience grouse hunting in Pennslyvania this year compared to past years. (I'm pretty sure Barberry has done similar tracking for an even longer timeframe and could come up with his numbers as well).

How often do I flush a grouse?
This season every 23 minutes, historically every 22 minutes.

How often do I shoot at grouse?
Once every 97 minutes (1.6 hours), historically once every 1.9 hours.

What percentage of grouse do I shoot at?
23% this year, 20% historically.

How many grouse do I have to flush to finally kill one?
This year one bird killed for every 12 flushed, historically one out of every 21.

How many hours do I hunt to kill a grouse?
4.5 hours/kill this year, 7.7 most years.

What percentage of birds shot at are killed?
This year 36%, most years 24%.

·
Registered
134 Posts
Very interesting information. I'm very jealous of the flush every 23 minutes. Hopefully with a lot of hard work I can get close to that one day.

Your 36% kill rate is also very impressive (even the 24% is). I've read were the average is around 10% or slightly lower. I'd put myself in the latter category for sure.

Thanks for the post.

·
Registered
3,832 Posts
Oh man, you may have it worse than me!

I keep the same stats (flushes, shots, kills, hours hunted) for everything I hunt plus a daily hunting log where I make diary-type entries (where I hunted, who I was with, weather conditions, habitat and general observations).

My dad did the same thing and got me started on it when I was a kid, must be a hereditary obsession?