The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3,691 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
found these today. they are pretty small and kind of gnarled but i think the are yellow morels. i've seen picts of yellows but have only ever found blacks, half frees and grays. i'm going to check back in a few days to see if they have morphed a bit more into something morel-like. what do the experts on here think?

and finally, i found some ramps. only 1 bunch though and i looked all over after finding these. man were they tasty/.

·
Registered
21,036 Posts
I'm no expert, but I would say those are not morels.

·
Registered
21,036 Posts
Yup, I think you're right. They look exactly like the one's you posted.

·
Banned
1,246 Posts
Those are false morels, here's a pic of one I took several days ago.....good side is pickable size Blacks almost always show-up in the same area as False morels just about a week or so later.....

·
Registered
3,691 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
thanks thats what i'm hoping for too. i'll be back in that area on sunday to check. its a shame those are poisonous because they are all over the place. and they are really easy to spot unlike the blacks that you sometimes have to step on to see. i will pick a big false morel and do a crossection and post the pics. from my research it looks like the stem will not be hollow but will be filled with a fibrous sort of membrane. now if i can just find some more of those ramps i would be happy. even my picky 14 y/o liked them and thats saying something. heading to camp in bedford county this afternoon and will be doing some mushroom and ramp hunting down there too.

·
Registered
9,265 Posts
Apparently there actually is a way to eat them. It's some complicated cooking process that makes them not poisonous, but I don't know that I'd try it myself. They're a delicacy in Finland.

·
Registered
3,477 Posts