The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
675 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been hunting for 25 years, and my dad 50+. My grandfather taught us that part of field dressing a deer is cutting the "scent glands" off the inside of the hind legs. I asked my dad why. His response was classic, "I have no idea why. That's how I was taught. Why change after all these years?"

Does anyone else do this and why? I've looked at a ton of dead deer pics on the Internet this fall and have not seen any that do.

Thanks!

·
6,453 Posts
my father taught me to do that 30+years ago and i did it for a long time....i stopped when he was no longer able to hunt and im not sure why i did. funny you mentioned it because i havent thought about cutting them off in years but did think about it when i harvested my buck this season

·
Registered
1,302 Posts
People thought they would taint the meat. The only way that will happen is if you cut them off and then rub them around in it. Leave them be.

·
Banned
2,324 Posts
Not dumb at all Mike. I shot my 1st deer back in 1968, as I was admiring my 7pt. An old man in his 70`s came by and said I should cut the musk gland off of his back legs or my meat wouldn't taste good. Being young and dumb I did as he said.
As it turned out, this is just an old wives tale. The only reason to cut off the musk`s is if you want to freeze them for hunting the rut in archery the following season.
That`s the only answer I can give you, maybe some old-timers no the answer....

·
Registered
843 Posts
My dad taught me the same thing and I still do it. I know it probably doesn't matter but I will keep doing it. My wife shot her first deer last week and asked me the same question.

·
Banned
4,279 Posts
Mike, I was taught that too (67yro) & I do it when I'm skinning deer. That hock gland is pretty stinky and if you get the smell on your hands it can be transferred to the meat. I always wash both my hands and knife before I start butchering.